USACO 2014 US Open Contest -- Final Results

The USACO 2014 US Open contest featured algorithmic programming problems covering a wide range of techniques and levels of difficulty.

Click here to see the contest problems and official solutions, or to practice re-submitting solutions.

A total of 1205 participants submitted at least one solution, hailing from 67 different countries:

  536 USA  131 CHN   51 IRN   49 VNM   31 CAN   31 BLR   25 GEO
   22 IDN   19 TUR   19 MEX   15 UKR   15 BRA   12 TKM   12 RUS
   12 IND   10 TWN   10 KAZ   10 JPN   10 FRA   10 BGR    9 VEN
    9 THA    9 BEL    9 ARM    8 KOR    8 BGD    7 ROU    7 MKD
    7 DEU    7 AUS    6 SGP    6 FIN    5 ZAF    5 NLD    5 IRL
    5 GRC    5 CUB    5 AZE    4 DOM    4 CZE    3 POL    3 LTU
    3 EST    3 EGY    3 BIH    2 TUN    2 TJK    2 SYR    2 PER
    2 MNG    2 GBR    2 CYP    2 AUT    1 SWE    1 SVN    1 SVK
    1 SRB    1 SHN    1 PRT    1 NZL    1 MDA    1 ITA    1 ISL
    1 HRV    1 HKG    1 DNK    1 ARG

The average participant submitted solutions for 1.6 problems. In total, there were 1925 graded submissions, broken down by language as follows:

 1189 C++           
  541 Java          
  110 Pascal        
   34 C             
   26 Python 3.2    
   25 Python 2.7.2  

Gold Division Results

Full Gold Results

The Gold division had 366 total participants, of whom 287 were pre-college students.

The US Open problems proved to be quite challenging accross all divisions, with gold being no exception. Congratulations to our top pre-college competitors:

Country   Grad   Name Score
JPN  2018    Yuta Takaya867
USA  2016    Demi Guo667
TWN  2015    Brian Chen667
USA  2014    Steven Hao633
USA  2015    Andrew He600
DNK  2015    Kevin Zivanovic567
CHN  2015    Yuetong Wang567
USA  2015    Scott Wu567
CHN  2015    Cir Li533
AUS  2014    Ray Li533
USA  2014    Bill Cooperman533

Top observers were:

Country   Name Score
ZAFBruce Merry967
HRVLovro Puzar833
JPNUwi Tenpen633
CANJacob Plachta600
DEUFabian Gundlach533
RUSDmitry Gorbunov433
ISLBjarki Agust Gudmundsson400
FINAntti Laaksonen367
VNMHai Hoang333
RUSIvan Fefer267
SVKJakub Safin267
RUSGerald Agapov267

Silver Division Results

Full Silver Results

The Silver division had 333 total participants, of whom 281 were pre-college students.

Top pre-college participants in the silver division were:

Country   Grad   Name Score
CHN  2016    Md Wang900
KAZ  2016    Nazarbek Altybay767
USA  2016    Edward Lee733
IRN  2019    Abtin Bateni700
TUR  2014    Halil Ozan Akgül700
JPN  2015    Ken Ogura667
CHN  2016    Jahoo Yang667
USA  2016    Selena Feng667
GEO  2016    Dato Bejanishvili633
USA  2017    Aaron Kaufer633

And the top observers in the silver division included:

Country   Name Score
RUSVitaly Demidenko1000
CHNCe Jin867
CHNZheye Deng833
CHNQiwei Yu767
USAEvan Ye700
CHNChao Zhang667
IDNAufar Gilbran533
VNMDuc Thien Bui500
VNMTuan Nguyen433
BRAIvan Henrique Petrin400

All participants with scores at least 500 will be automatically promoted to the gold division for future contests.

Bronze Division Results

Full Bronze Results

The Bronze division had 506 total participants, of whom 417 were pre-college students.

The bronze division was the only division in which we saw perfect scores among our pre-college students. Top students were:

Country   Grad   Name Score
RUS  2016    Vladislav Bidzilya1000
TWN  2014    Hsu Chin-Chia1000
CHN  2015    Shunyu Yao1000
USA  2015    Aurick Zhou1000
TUR  2016    Erdem Fuller1000
CAN  2014    Alex Wen967
GEO  2016    Nika Losaberidze900
TWN  2015    Jerry Chang867
UKR  2016    Slava Oheretny833
IRN  2015    Armin Fallah833

Top observers were:

Country   Name Score
USAMichael Kirsche1000
CHNBall Qiu1000
TWNKevin Yen1000
KAZPernekhan Utemuratov1000
INDAnd Bluer867
PERLuis Vasquez867
USASusan Wang867
USAChung-Wen Albert Tsao867
BRAAnderson Silva833
CHNAchilles Lee833
CUBYairon CId Ruiz833

All participants with scores at least 500 will be automatically promoted to the silver division for future contests.

Final Remarks

As you might have surmised from the results, the 2014 US Open was an exceedingly challenging contest, more so than a typical USACO contest -- this was by design, as the US Open serves as our "national championship" contest, the grand finale to our 2013-2014 contest season, and as the contest has a slightly longer time limit. Across all divisions, very few contestants earned particularly high marks. Accordingly, cutoffs for promotion have been set rather generously to alllow as many students as possible to advance to the next division starting with the first contest of the 2014-2015 season.

For those not yet promoted, remember that the more practice you get, the better your algorithmic coding skills will become -- please keep at it! USACO contests (especially this one!) are designed to challenge even the very best students, and it can take a good deal of hard work to excel at them. To help you fix any bugs in your code, you can now re-submit your solutions and get feedback from the judging server using "analysis mode".

A large number of people contribute towards the quality and success of USACO contests. Those who helped with this contest include Mark Gordon, Nathan Pinsker, Bruce Merry, Kalki Seksaria, Jacob Steinhardt, Jonathan Paulson, Richard Peng, and Allen Chen. Thanks also to our translators and to Clemson CCIT for providing our contest infrastructure. Finally, we are grateful to the USACO sponsors for their generous support throughout the entire 2013-2014 season: IBM, Usenix, TwoSigma, and Jump Trading. I am thrilled to welcome two new sponsors to our family: Dropbox and D.E. Shaw -- two companies that recognize the value of supporting the development of top computing talent worldwide.

I am glad to see that many of our participants have steadily improved throughout the entire 2013-2014 season. We will be announcing finalists to attend our summer training camp soon. For those still working towards this goal, I challenge you to continue practicing over the summer, and I hope to see you again in the fall of our 2014-2015 season!

Happy coding!

- Brian Dean ([email protected])
Director, USA Computing Olympiad